Archive | June 8, 2012

Big Kahuna

I don’t know if that’s how you spell kahuna but that’s how I will spell it. Because this is the Big Kahuna. But it comes with an interesting twist. So I have a pretty major audition to prep for. But it didn’t come from my agent. Let me explain. I have an agent. I signed with this agent back in September. And then it was reeeeallly quiet. Things like TIFF and Christmas came along so I understood. But then it was a New Year. I got one or two auditions here and there but mostly from stuff I self-submitted on. I heard “it’s not busy” more than I can count. And I believed that. Why wouldn’t I? I looked at the breakdowns and didn’t see one breakdown suited for me. Made sense.

Then 3 months went by and I thought hmmm…in 7 months I’ve had maybe 3 auditions. So I checked in again. Still slow. I took new headshots, even went to LA and checked out some workshops, came back and still nothing. Got another audition. Then nothing. Knew lots was gearing up, saw production trucks on every downtown street, heard about friends going on auditions…checked in again and didn’t hear back. Called. Nothing. Emailed again and got the standard “it’s really quiet right now. Nothing is happening. The trucks you see are for shows where they cast from the US.” uh-huh.

So I did what any actor would do, I started to shop around for a new rep. Picked my top 3, nothing crazy. A few at a time. See what the consensus was on my materials. Got a call the next day from an agent who happened to be looking for my exact type for a TV show. So my email came at the perfect time.  Could he send me the materials asap and get me on tape? Uhh whattt? I mean YES and AMAZING right? Except, I’m still repped by my current agent and this agent wasn’t offering to rep me, just offering me the shot at this opp and if I got the part, they’d sign me on the spot. Sooo if I don’t get this role, they won’t rep me. And why hadn’t my current agent got me in for this role?

So here I am. This audition is the Big Kahuna. Recurring role on a big TV show. I get it, I also get a new agent. I don’t get it, I keep looking. And THAT my friends, is just how it goes.