Archive | June 20, 2012

Super Shy

Sooo in reading my usual message boards this week I came across an interesting post. It was in reference to a popular column on Backstage, by Secret Agent Man, an anonymous agent who likes to tell it like it is, which I love! Anyhow, he wrote about the scary agent meeting, which I don’t actually find to be scary. I’ve been to many job interviews, I’ve spoken to people, heck, I’m an ACTOR, I speak for a living. But one comment made me go hmmm. All the advice was “be yourself” or “be fun and be genuine” or things of that nature. Common sense really. But what about the introverts. One reader actually said she is naturally super shy and very introverted in social settings. And I know people like that. They exist. They aren’t dumb or snobs, they are actually really shy and quiet around people. That’s just who they are. So it made me think even more about how on earth those types of people make it in an industry that is all about talking. Back when I first thought about taking acting classes, a few advertised their classes for the aspiring actor, duh, but some also advertised “helping overcome public speaking fears” or “how to better present yourself” as great reasons to take an acting class. And I thought ya, that’s actually a smart move for folks who have a hard time getting up in front of people and talking. And I really don’t know where I’m going with this. But it made me wonder about that person who said she didn’t have a great agent meeting because she’s shy. Let’s face it, acting involves speaking and being around LOTS of people all the time. Have you been on a film set? Sorry to say but it is not a profession for the quiet and shy.